Reflections on my First Semester of Seminary

Monday was a good day.  I turned in my final test for my first semester of Seminary.  Currently that gives me 12 of 96 hours of Seminary done.  1/8 of my way through Seminary.  Since I am now officially done, I thought I would post some of my reflections on Asbury and seminary life in general.

First, There are a lot of people smarter than me especially the professors, but also some of the students.  It has been a blessing to be with people who intellectual challenge me.  Next, there are a lot of holy people here.  I’ve told many people from back in Oklahoma that the people are the most authentic that I have met.  They care a great deal about others, and they care a great deal about God.  This has humbled me and has called me to “Be Holy as God as Holy” and to work harder.  So much of my educational experiences have come so easy, it is nice to be challenged at times.  I am thankful for my undergraduate experience at OCU as it did help prepare me in many ways for Seminary, though.

I also learned that seminary is a lot more than classes.  If all you do while at Seminary is go to class, you largely miss the seminary experience.  I’ve learned a lot through the worship experiences.  I’ve learned a ton through fellowship with my brothers and sisters at seminary.  I’ve also learned a lot about adapting to “Seminary Life.”  It is not as easy as I thought it was going to be.  Not only did we move, but we moved to a place far from home, where we hardly knew anyone who was here, and we had no jobs to speak of, and did not know how we were going to pay for seminary.  Well, Heather and I have been blessed by scholarships to not have to pay for any school yet.  We have found jobs, while they don’t pay us a lot of money, they have been places of friendship and service.  We have made many new friends, and we are becoming family with some of them.  Finally, we now have a home.  A place where we come and relax and feel like it is, well, home.

I’ve also learned that life is stressful.  It is hard to juggle 12 hours of seminary, 3 jobs, and still manage to be a good husband and friend.  So often I would get so busy in my little world of accomplishment that I would not be there for my wife or for others.  I’ve learned that life will always be busy, and we all have a decisions to make about how busy do we want to make ourselves?  Unfortunately, I get myself to busy to be there for family and also for God. 

That’s the last thing that I’ve learned: God is faithful.  Now I knew that before, but I can see it even more here.  As I mentioned earlier, moving here was a venture into the great unknown, and while life isn’t perfect for us.  I can see God’s grace evident throughout this experience, and trust His faithfulness for the rest of our time here.  Depending on God is easy to preach, but it is harder to live, and this has helped me live as one who depends on God.   

What a fellowship, what a joy divine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
What a blessedness, what a peace is mine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

O how sweet to walk in this pilgrim way,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
O how bright the path grows from day to day,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

Leaning, leaning, safe and secure from all alarms;
Leaning, leaning, leaning on the everlasting arms.

1 Comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Thoughts on Life with God

One response to “Reflections on my First Semester of Seminary

  1. Shannon

    It’s great getting to know you and Heather these past few months. The road is long, but man is it a great road. Just think, we had no idea what to expect in August when we arrived. Now we do and we still want to keep on this journey.

    Enjoy the Christmas break and be ready for it all to begin again in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

