Breaking News: I’ve watched more CNN than ESPN this week.

I read about 7 newspapers every morning, but only for the sports pages.  When it is time for me to watch the news, I watch ESPNews.  When I talk to someone about the current events of the days, we talk about the latest game or trade, or the latest on Roger Clemens (which should shape up for a wild week at Congress, but that is for another column).  But not this week.

I voted in the Presidential Election in 2004 and have voted a couple of other times as well, but I didn’t really get into it.  Something has changed in me.  Maybe I’m getting older and this is what old people do: watch CNN.  Maybe it is because my sports teams are terrible (don’t get me started on OSU basketball) and I need something to pay attention to.  But I think that it is something else.

Barack Obama.  He inspires me.  He encourages me.  He challenges me.  Dare I even say it, he changes me.  My TV watching is just one thing that change.  More importantly, my hope has changed.  I have hope that if Barack Obama is President then politics will change.  They already have.  Because of his leadership, this has been one of the least ugly presidential campaigns and will continue to be.  He has pledged to have integrity even if it means less votes, because it is the right thing to do.  While he is a democrat, his focus is not on being a traditional democrat with vested interest in the party’s position because that is what he is supposed to say, but he is guided by what he believes is best for America.  He is constantly reminding us that we are not the red states of America or the blue states of America, but the United States of America.

He believes in hope.  He said that “Hope is not blind optimism.”  It’s not just him writing checks with his mouth that his presidency can’t cash, but he does have plans for this country, and a lot of it depends on us moving forward for America.  He also said that, “Nothing worthwhile in this country has ever happened, unless somebody has been willing to hope.”  So, I believe in Obama, because he believes in us to make us the best USA that we can be.  Sometimes in life, we just need someone to encourage us along the journey, to give us hope that what we are doing is worth it.  I hope I can do that as a Preacher, and I believe Obama can do that as a President.

5 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons, Politics

5 responses to “Breaking News: I’ve watched more CNN than ESPN this week.

  1. Shannon

    I would opt for Fox News, not because I believe it to be the more conservative of the three majors, but because it does offer both sides of the opinion. But, I digress.

    Obama is a flashy candidate and one that I’m interested in personally to see where he goes. There are things as a conservative that concerns me, but he certainly has the charisma and charm that does great in the White House. I’ve been reminded of Ronald Reagan several times when listening to him with the way Obama can communicate and reach out to the audience.

    It’s still early to see if Obama will garner the nomination, though yesterday’s sweep will certainly help. Both parties appear fractured heading into November and that’s never a good thing. The Democrats can’t decide on whom they want to lead and the Republicans can’t decide on what they believe in.

    If there was ever a year that a third-party candidate could win the White House, this would be it.

  2. aarontiger

    I wouldn’t agree that a 3rd party candidate could win, because either Clinton or Obama or McCain already has enough of a following and there is no 3rd party candidate who has any momentum.

    I agree with you, as a conservative myself, that concern me with Obama (as with all the candidates) and hopefully I am not falling prey to the great cover-up of sin: charisma, but I think his willingness to work through the people instead of taking money from the lobbyists shows to me that he will be a champion for the people, which I think is part of the essentials of a democracy.

    As for CNN they have just had the most extensive election coverage so far.

  3. Shannon

    You would have to have a third party candidate come out now to make a difference.

    The thing with Clinton and McCain is that they are both polarizing individuals and neither will cause an upswing in voter turnout from the other side to vote for them. Republicans are not going to vote for Clinton and Democrats are not going to vote for McCain. In fact, it’s possible if Clinton and McCain are the options that some will opt to stay home instead of voting.

    A third party candidate could come in and raise enough money to cause some problems. Remember in 1992, Ross Perot is the reason George Bush eventually lost to President Clinton.

    As for charisma, be careful with blanket statements. You can be charismatic and engaging as a leader and still be living in the right.

  4. aarontiger

    I agree with your point of charisma. I guess my point is that it is much easier to be blinded by a charismatic person than it is a non-charismatic person, that is what I was hoping to communicate the first go round.

    What has me interested about McCain is that he is such a polarizing figure in his own party.

  5. Shannon

    The fact McCain is polarizing in his own party will hurt him. He all but has the nomination sown up, yet he went 1-for-3 yesterday and now finds himself in a must-win situation in Virginia in order to prove he can win in heavy conservative regions.

    That McCain supporters, such as Texas Gov. Rick Perry, are calling Gov. Huckabee to get him to leave the race is very telling.

Leave a Reply

