That is a lot to put on us, God

“This is how the Father shows who he is- when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.”  John 15:8 The Message

Let us think of that for a second.  God, the Father of all, the creator and sustainer of the universe, shows himself through us.  The one true God could choose to show himself in a number of ways (and he has of course: burning bush to Moses, whisper to Elijah, Jesus to the world), but here Jesus tells his disciples then and now how Jesus will show himself: you and me.Part of me wishes it was not so, that God would not put this pressure on us, and I think that you would probably admit it too.  Because as God’s representative to the world, lets just say that I do not always represent Him the best.  But still God is using us these Earthly vessels as the means for showing and giving himself to the world. 

How can we be God-bearers?  By abiding in Jesus.  “I am the Vine, you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5  When we have the intimate relationship like a branch to the vine and a vine back to the fruit that is when we can do what we were made to do: bear fruit.  Dr. Seamands, a seminary professor of mine, has told us often, “there is a big difference between being fruitful and being productive.” 

So, there we have it.  We are to be fruitful people.  That is what we are created to do: bear fruit.  When we are fruit-bearers, we are actually God-bearers.  I remember reading Phillip Yancy’s book Prayer and in that book he talks about the number 1 way (I’m not for sure exactly how he puts it, but this is the insight I gathered from it) God’s answers prayer is us.  When someone needs to be comforted, God sends us a shoulder.  When someone needs a new attitude, God sends a new friend.  When someone is in pain, God sends the right kind of healer.  I believe that the number 1 reason why prayers aren’t answered isn’t because God has not heard or because God has not responded, but because we did not hear or respond to God.  Oh, look I got to go.  Of course, have to go to work, but really it’s time for me to go bear fruit!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

