Who is God, but the Lord?

Every once in a while, a particular scripture will continually be brought to my mind, probably so that it will take root in my heart.  I don’t really have control of these thoughts.  I’ll be laying down for bed, and all the sudden there is the Word of God.  I’ll be watching ESPN, and all the sudden there is the Word of God.  I’ll be walking my dog, and, yea you get it, all the sudden there is the Word of God.  Here recently I have been reading the Old Testament starting with 1 Samuel and now I am in 2 Kings, but for the past few weeks 2 Samuel 22:32a has been on mind, “For who is God, but the Lord?”  That’s it.  Not a big long passage or one that is often said, but simply “For who is God, but the Lord?”  Which is a question that I think we all have to answer.

It is easy for most people to acknowledge that there is a God.  As James 2:19 says, “You believe that God is one; you do well.  Even the demons believe- and shudder.”  Someone can look up and stars in the sky, and say yes there is something greater than me.  They can see the rolling hills of Kentucky, the gorgeous mountains of Colorado, or the sparkling sea of Cozumel, and say yes there is a God.  To say there is a God is important and essential, but it is a lot like having a guitar with no strings.  You can have something pretty to look at, but the guitar will never do what it is intended to do: make beautiful music. 

It is never enough for us just to acknowledge God is God.  We might like to think that that is enough, but it falls short of the vastness of who God is.  My parents are in town this week, and I have always acknowledged them as the people who have given me physical life.  Without them, I do not exist.  For some, tragically, this is the only relationship they have with their parents: DNA.  They may be biologically related, but in all other senses of “parenthood” they are non-existent. 

Simply passing on one’s DNA however does not constitute a parent.  A true parent is one who is constantly there for and with their children.  They provide for them, nurture them, and truly love them.  It is through this relationship that a child comes to embrace their parents as those who they can trust to lead them along life’s journey.  DNA does not make one a parent, love does. 

Likewise with God.  God is more than just the one who gave us earthly life.  God is the one who gives us eternal life!  God is the one who has loved us unconditionally, and who sent his son to die for us, so that we might live.  What does God want us to do in response?  To serve him as Lord and not simply to acknowledge him as God.

Who is God?  But the Lord!  God is Lord.  He is not just the creator of the universe, but He is also the ruler of me.  This is critical to our lives as Christians.  As the Lord of our lives, God runs our life.  That makes me feel as uncomfortable as I’m sure it makes you.  It is much easier to see God in the proverbial “up-there,” and give God praise and adoration, than it is to surrender to the God that is within me, and give God all that I am. 

One of my favorite things to do when I lead a worship service is to remind people what they are actually singing.  Too often, we read and sing the words on the page and they move from the eyes to the lips, but never quite reach the mind, and certainly not the heart, so today I want you to take special note of these powerful lyrics, but only say them, if you are ready to follow God as Lord.

Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee
Take my moments and my days
Let them flow in ceaseless praise
Take my hands and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love
Take my feet and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee

Take my voice and let me sing always, only, for my King
Take my lips and let them be filled with messages from Thee
Take my silver and my gold, not a mite would I withhold
Take my intellect and use every power as You choose

Take my will and make it Thine, it shall be no longer mine
Take my heart, it is Thine own, it shall be Thy royal throne
Take my love, my Lord, I pour at your feet its treasure store
Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee

Praise be to God, the Lord of our lives.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Thoughts on Life with God

Leave a Reply

