Two Sports Questions

I enjoy hypothetical questions, and I hope you do too.  I have two questions for you today.  1.  If you were recommending a sports franchise for someone to root for, who would it be and why?  This is not an opportunity to talk about how much you love your favorite team, but what team do you think would be most rewarding to be a fan of.  I’m a Cubs fan, but I don’t recommend it.  It’s too painful.  2. What athlete would be the best athlete at another sport?  If you have seen Lebron’s new commercial about playing for the Browns, then this is asking that sort of question.  My answers after the jump.1. If I was picking any sports franchise, I would look for some important characteristics.  I would want an enthusiastic and committed fanbase.  I want committed and disciplined ownership that has principles and makes hires from that framework.  I want a team that has  a commitment to the fundamentals and is consistently successful, and when they are not, they do not freak out, but carefully evaluate and make good decisions.  They draft or sign high character players to lead the team.  So, my sports franchise is the Pittsburg Steelers.  They have had 3 coaches in the past many, many years.  You can count on them to play good D and run the football.  They are mostly successful, and they don’t stay down for long.  If you are a fan of the Steelers they are going to be good most of the time and great occasionally and bad rarely.  That’s a great franchise.

2. What athlete would be great at another sport?  That’s a tough question.  I think basketball players are in general the best athletes, so I would have to probably go there.  (Barry Sanders as a soccer player would have been ridicoulous though.)  Allen Iverson as a slot WR would be up there.  Obviously Lebron as a Wideout would have been unstopable.  D-Wade as a Strong Safety would be my choice.  He’s got great size, is one tough cookie, has great instincts.  He would be a great leader of the defense.  So, what do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Sports

One response to “Two Sports Questions

  1. Bo Jackson. In anything.

Leave a Reply

