Quotes that Pierce the Heart: part 1

I know I haven’t blogged in a while, but I have read, so I thought I would share with you some quotes that I have read recently that have pierced my heart, and while I am glad they did, when the Word speaks truth into your brokenness, it stings a while, as my heart gets molded into the child of God that I was created to be.  I hope they pierce you, like they have pierced me.  Without further ado…

“God’s ownership of everything also changes the king of question we ask in giving.  Rather than, “How much of my money should I give to God?” we learn to ask, “How much of God’s money should I keep for myself?”  The difference between these two questions is of monumental proportions.”  Richard J. Foster, The Challenge of the Disciplined Life: Christian Reflections on Money, Sex, and Power. p. 42

“Our cross is not that cantankerous person we have to deal with day by day.  Our cross is not that employer we just can’t get along with.  Our cross is not that neighbor or work colleague who cuts across the grain in every single time of relationship.  Nor is our cross the difficulties and infirmities that the flow of life brings to us beyond our control.  Our cross is the point of our unlikeness to the image of Christ, where we must die to self in order to be raised by God into wholeness of life in the image of Christ right there at that point.  So the process of being conformed to the image of Christ takes place at the points of our unlikeness to Christ, and the first step is confrontation.”  Dr. Robert Mullholand Invitation to a Journey: A Road Map for Spiritual Formation, 38.

“As a fairly young Christian I thought of repentance for my sins in terms of being sorry for things I had done.  I was really, sincerely sorry, yet kept doing the same things over and over again.  You may have been there yourself.  Then I heard a wise teacher say, “Repentance is not being sorry for the things you have done, but being sorry you are the kind of person that does such things.”  Dr. Robert Mullholand, The Deeper Journey: The Spirituality of Discovering Your True Self, p. 23.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Thoughts on Life with God

Leave a Reply

