A Month of Micah: Some Thoughts on Parenthood

1 month ago today, my first son Micah Reilly Noah Tiger was born.  Needless to say, this month has been radically different from any other month of my life.  So, I thought that I would give you all somethings I have learned in my 1 month of parenthood.

1. I am a lot more selfish than I thought.  It has been an adjustment, as I understand a new level of sacrifice.  Micah depends on me to be attentive to him, and I don’t get the “me time” like I accustomed to.  I didn’t realize the depths of my selfishness, so I am thankful for Micah to show me this. 

2. I learned why they call babies, bundles of joy.  Micah just brings forth joy to all who meet him.  It is an incredible gift, and I love being around him.

3. I miss sleep.  I have seen 4 A.M. more in the past month than I think in my previous 25 years.

4. I am grateful for a community of both family and friends that have come around and supported us.  It was great having the grandparents up.  It was incredible having friends make dinner for us.  Truly, a village does raise a child, and I am thankful for having people around me.

5. It is tough to maintain your other identities when you are acting as father for such a period of time.  I forget to be husband and friend at times because of how dominating this relationship is.  I realized the other day that I had hardly related to my wife as my wife, and instead had been relating to her as Micah’s mom. 

6. Life takes longer with a baby.  It takes much longer to go places then it used to.

7. Micah is one strong baby.  He has already turned himself over multiple times.  He will be crawling before we know it.  He is an active baby, and he is going to enjoy his freedom as he gets older.  I think I will need to get in better shape.

8. Micah is one cute kid.

9. Parenting is a lot of trial and error.  He is crying.  Does a diaper change work?  Nope.  OK, let’s see if he wants to be rocked.  Nope.  Alright, lets see if he wants to be walked.  That’s it! 

10. Babies cry.  Sometimes for no foreseeable reason. 

11. I enjoy talking and singing to Micah.  He seems to enjoy it sometimes as well.

12.  Love grows each day.  I really do enjoy coming home more and more.

13.  I don’t know how single parents do it.  Heather and I operate so much better when we are together taking care of him.

14. People love pictures of babies.

15. Diaper changes aren’t as bad as I think they are.

16. Micah has grown so fast.  He is still little, but he is much bigger than he was when he first came out.

17.  I am thankful we didn’t have twins right now.  That would be overwhelming.

18. I am hopeful that we get into a “relative” routine.  I didn’t realize how important that was to me.

19. I am more grateful than ever to my parents for the effort and energy that they exerted during the first month of my life. 

20. I can’t wait to see what this next month will bring!  The grace of God flows through Micah daily, and I can’t wait to see the new mercies that God will bring through our little bundle of joy.

2 Comments

Filed under Fatherhood

2 responses to “A Month of Micah: Some Thoughts on Parenthood

  1. Peg Fusick

    Some very moving comments Aaron. You brought tears to my eyes. Only because I was there with you with all of your “firsts” with Micah for the first 2 weeks after he was born. I can tell by the pictures since then that you are getting more and more accomplished at all of it. Observations 5, 6, 9, 13 and 19 are great insights and well worth remembering. 3 and 18 may not happen for awhile. 15 makes me very proud of you. My daughter, your and our family is blessed to have you in our lives. This last month was only the beginning of one of the most rewarding, loving, difficult, frustrating and never ending relationship you will ever have. Welcome to the Parenthood Club.
    Micah’s Grams

  2. vawterski

    I love this post – it echos so many of my own thoughts and feelings about our first month with our Micah – who will be 4 years old next week! Welcome to the incredible journey of parenthood, and congratulations!

    I stumbled on your blog – mostly because my husband is Aaron and our 1st son is Micah – such wonderful names! Thanks for posting! We’re at http://babymatthew.wordpress.com/ if you want to stop by.

Leave a Reply

